Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

20 second authentication delay

David Woolley

20 second authentication delay
« on: July 23, 2002, 02:30:22 AM »
Hi,

When I send mail from my Windows client to the smtp mail server of the SME, there is a long wait before the message is sent.  There is a similar wait each time my Windows mail client retrieves mail from the IMAP server.  I have searched these forums and found some similar threads, but I don't understand.  I think I have done the quoted fix below, but there's no improvement.  Any way, I am not using DHCP in my LAN, but have fixed ips.  There was another reply about making an entry in /etc/hosts. I've just installed the 5.1.2 update2 blade, hoping that this issue may have been resolved, but no joy.

Can anyone describe a fixe for me using less shorthand, please?  I'm quite new to the Linux  command line.

Very many thanks

David

Author: Anthony (anthonyv_AT_au1.ibm.com)
Date:   03-11-02 01:50

The fix is to stop resolv.conf being overwritten by dhcpd.

Searched the forum and found this:

# drop the external link - note therefore that you can perform the
# fix remotely using this procedure
/sbin/ifdown eth1
# Replace /etc/resolv.conf with the correct contents
/sbin/e-smith/expand-template /etc/resolv.conf
# Patch the ifup script to use the correct arguments to dhcpcd
/usr/bin/perl -i.old -pe \
's/DHCPCDARGS="-d/DHCPCDARGS="-R -d/' \
/sbin/ifup
# Now bring the external interface back up
/sbin/ifup eth1

David Woolley

Re: 20 second authentication delay
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2002, 03:01:20 AM »
Hi

I've just found Bill Talcott's post about unstealthing port 113 on my LAN, and this has fixed my local mail problem. Thanks, Bill.  

Sorry for jumping in so quick.

Thanks

David

Bill Talcott

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2002, 08:03:00 PM »
Was just going to point you there. Glad I could help. =)