Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Dumb Question

ssnow0016

Dumb Question
« on: November 10, 2006, 09:41:00 AM »
Hi, im new to webservers and that. i was told that i did not have to buy a domain that i could simply use a subdomain that i got from a friend. if thats true how would i set up sme to control the subdomain?. ive tried to use it and couldnt figure it out. i tried to set the subdomain(ssnow.maxisgamer.net) as the primary domain for sme and i wasnt able to get it to control the domain it was showing up as the files that were created with the subdomain. id appreciate all the help that i can get.

in other words i can access my server localy but not online. the only thing im able to access online is the orignal subdomain info.
shawn

Offline jonroberts

• +0/-0
    • http://www.westcountrybusiness.com
Dumb Question
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2006, 11:08:22 AM »
I'm not sure why you wouldn't just want to buy your own domain.  In the UK a .co.uk domain costs about £5 to buy & gives you 2 years.  You would then have full control over your domain, rather than relying on a friend.

Having said that, your subdomain does resolve to a server somewhere as it displays a folder listing.  The IP is 66.197.205.245 and I'm guessing that that's not your server (its not the standard SME webpage).

If this is correct, then you need to make sure that the owner of maxisgamer.net has configured it so that ssnow.maxisgamer.net directs to your IP.

As a test, try accessing your SME server by your IP address only.  On a standard SME install, this should show you the "This web site is under construction" message (try accessing it internally by IP address to see what comes up).

If you can access your SME server by IP address, the problem is with the domain, so get you friend to configure it for your IP.  If not, then resolve that issue first (probably a firewall issue).

Jon

ssnow0016

Dumb Question
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2006, 05:40:38 PM »