Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Is there a substitution for the ata_piix driver?

Offline tlicht

• +0/-0
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge.
Is there a substitution for the ata_piix driver?
« on: May 09, 2010, 11:53:32 PM »
Hi,
I am not 100% certain that it is a bug I stumbled upon, but it looks like it....
I have been using SME server for several years. I've had the v 7.4 for some years now on a reasonably modern mobo with an Athlon64 xp 3000+ cpu. This used around 90W, so I thought of going green and saving some on the bargain.

I got the GA-D510UD mobo(atom) and did just manage to get past the screen asking about language and keyboard layout when the installation program wants me to choose a storage driver. Naturally none of those in the list satisfied the installation program.... This was a real setback. Disappointed, I put together a server with a mobo of some years and two new 1TB Samsungs. Installation went well and I managed to copy the data from my old SME server.

OK, I now had better capacity, but power consumtion was still 90 - 100 W. In a kind of optimistic and desperate fit, I connected the new 1Tb disks to the atom mobo together with DGE503T NIC (the one from the computer I used for installing the server) . Lo and behold, the server started seemingly ok. Pretty soon I noticed that disk transfer speeds were not what you would expect from a gigabyte network. The speed varied somewhere between 3Mb/s and 400Kb/s.

After checking the network cabling and that file transfer between workstations were good I started to study the server logs. I found the following in messages, which seems to be connected to my problem:
Code: [Select]
kernel: raid1: raid set md2 active with 2 out of 2 mirrors
kernel: kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
kernel: EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
kernel: ata_piix 0000:00:1f.2: version 2.00ac7-RH1
kernel: ata_piix 0000:00:1f.2: MAP [ P0 P2 P1 P3 ]