Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

beginner db question

Offline JoshuaR

• +0/-0
    • Tech-Eze
beginner db question
« on: May 13, 2010, 08:39:59 AM »
Hi,
Please bear with me as I'm new to developing contribs  :-P   (I have read through the wiki developer file--several times :grin: )
I've created a database file under /etc/e-smith/db/configuration/defaults/mycontribname/file.conf
This file is updated by the web interface. I need to get the data from that file into my contrib template (the database file is the entire content of what needs to be in the template), now in the developer guide I can see something like the following:
Code: [Select]
{
    $OUT .= " ${mycontribname}";
}
The problem is, the database file is a multi-line file (and it needs to be), and when the template creates the final file, the multiple lines that were in the database file are all in one line now, eg,
|mycontrib|somedataline1\nsomedataline2 I know that \n is a line break which is why the code is producing it. Does anyone know how I can pull the multiple line db file into my template while keeping the correct multiple line format in tact? On a side note that code is also prepending the actual db file name into the final file as well. Any help would be appreciated  :D

Thanks,
--Josh R
Life's tragedy is that we get old too soon, and wise too late...

Offline cactus

• +3/-0
    • http://www.snetram.nl
Re: beginner db question
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2010, 08:53:54 AM »
Hi,
Please bear with me as I'm new to developing contribs  :-P   (I have read through the wiki developer file--several times :grin: )
I've created a database file under /etc/e-smith/db/configuration/defaults/mycontribname/file.conf