Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

SME on network with existing DHCP server

Offline Rich

• +0/-0
SME on network with existing DHCP server
« on: June 06, 2013, 11:00:40 AM »
This must be simple! Sorry - I am new to Linux.

I am using SME on a network as a file server.

This network has a DHCP server. How can I configure SME to obtain an IP address automatically?

I cannot find anything that works through the configuration procedure. Do I have to delve into the linux command prompt?

Many thanks,
Rich

Offline Stefano

• +2/-0
Re: SME on network with existing DHCP server
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2013, 11:10:16 AM »
SME server can act as a dhcp server but not (AFAIK) as a dhcp client

just configure it with a static ip address and create a reservation on the dhcp server

Offline Rich

• +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2013, 11:53:10 AM »
Ah, thanks Stefano

I do not have control over the DHCP server on the network so I am a bit wary about just choosing a random static IP address for the SME server.

If I assign an (at that time) unused IP number to SME then will the DHCP server pick this up and then *not* assign it to any further computers?

It is a bit disappointing that I cannot simply configure SME to obtain IP from a DHCP service - but I guess that on a network it is simpler if the IP is static anyway.

Rich

Offline Stefano

• +2/-0
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2013, 12:05:27 PM »
I do not have control over the DHCP server on the network so I am a bit wary about just choosing a random static IP address for the SME server.

contact who manage the dhcp server and ask him..

If I assign an (at that time) unused IP number to SME then will the DHCP server pick this up and then *not* assign it to any further computers?

I don't know, since I don't know anything about the dhcp server

It is a bit disappointing that I cannot simply configure SME to obtain IP from a DHCP service - but I guess that on a network it is simpler if the IP is static anyway.