Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

disable group

Offline akanarya

• +0/-0
disable group
« on: June 23, 2023, 09:36:03 AM »
I have been using sme server for a long time since ver 6, but this is my first time in the forum.
First of all thanks all for your precious efforts.

I want to disable a particular group I created (Collaboration>Groups) temporarily.
I want to enable it whenever I need it.
Is there a way to do this?
Thanks

Offline mmccarn

• +10/-0
Re: disable group
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2023, 01:11:25 PM »
So many questions... Some of which might point to a different or better way to do this...

Remove Group Members
Code: [Select]
# 1. Identify the group to act on
export GROUP=mygroup

# 2. Save the member list (so we can get it back later...)
db accounts setprop $GROUP MembersSave $(db accounts getprop $GROUP Members)

# 3. Clear the member list (that's two single quotes at the end...)
db accounts setprop $GROUP Members ''

# 4. Implement changes
signal-event group-modify $GROUP

Restore Group Members
# 1. Identify the group to act on
export GROUP=mygroup

# 2a. Verify that the members in the saved list still exist (see below)

# 2b. Restore Members (they must have been saved as shown above)
db accounts setprop $GROUP Members $(db accounts getprop $GROUP MembersSave)

# 3. Implement changes

I don't know what happens if you add a missing user to a group 'Members' value. Having non-existent users in that field does not cause errors when reconfiguring the group, but over time it might cause unknown problems.

This code is ugly and untested, but something like this could be used to verify that the users in "MembersSave" still exist before restoring them...

Alternate Option to Restore Only Existing Group Members
# set the group to act on
export GROUP=mygroup

# * get the saved member list from MembersSave (db accounts getprop $GROUP MembersSave)
# * convert it into a list (| tr "," "\n")
# * step through the list (| while read u; do ... done)