Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Time to pitch in for SME 8.0....

Offline raem

• +4/-0
« Reply #15 on: August 06, 2007, 05:24:46 PM »
Quote from: "jfarschman"
I would gladly pay it....  but I need reminding every year.

There's a possibility. What about creating a supporters mail list. Once a year or once a quarter (or however often deemed appropriate) a fund raising mail out could be sent to all list subscribers.

Of course registering on the list would be voluntary as is contributing funds or whatever else, but if people need reminding to donate regularly then surely that is not a hard thing to setup.

Offline jfarschman

• +0/-0
« Reply #16 on: August 06, 2007, 05:55:54 PM »
I work as a director of a non-profit organization and people are well intentioned, but they have to be reminded.  I have one other observation to make if you are going to build a reminder script.  

Keep a list with the $ amounts everyone last gave and solicit those same or greater $ amounts next year.  If you send people to screen with lesser donation options, people will tend to take those options.

Personally, I just donated $50.  Next year I would solicit my account specifically for $50, $100, $250 and $500. _NO_SMALLER_AMOUNTS_  Craft a message to people like me where I am led to believe that $50 is kind of the smallest amount I should give and if I give only $50 perhaps I should be embarrassed.  :oops:

These may, on the surface, seem like insipid ideas, but they work.  People give money according to their means and to alleviate guilt.
Jay Farschman
ICQ - 60448985
jay@hitechsavvy.com

Offline mercyh

• +0/-0
    • http://mercyh.org
Re: Time to pitch in for SME 8.0....
« Reply #17 on: August 29, 2007, 03:30:06 PM »
Hi,

Just a bump to get this back on the first couple of pages of the forum  :smile:

Offline cactus

• +3/-0
    • http://www.snetram.nl
« Reply #18 on: August 29, 2007, 10:26:59 PM »
Just a bump to get this back on the first couple of pages of the forum  :smile: